The SA Rugby Legends, who defended their world champion status at the Golden Oldies World Rugby Festival in Scotland recently, will be one of the major attractions at the third annual Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens festival.

The tournament takes place at Pearson High School in Summerstrand from December 12 to 14.

The Legends defeated the Wooden Spoon Society Legends (made up of international players from the four home nations) in Edinburgh, but will arguably face their toughest test to date when they take on the Grey Old Boys on Saturday, December 13, for a repeat of their 2006 clash.

In that match the destroyer of dreams, Joel Stransky, kicked a last-minute penalty to clinch victory for the Legends. This last-gasp win kept their unbeaten record, at all levels, intact.

“The match-up between the Legends and Grey will undoubtedly be the highlight of the exhibition matches,” says Jacques Steyn, NMB Sevens’ director of rugby. “They (the Legends) have a proud record and will be fielding a highly competitive team.”

Steyn says most of the Legends’ players have played in a world cup or against the world’s best and Grey will find this experienced outfit a tough nut to crack in the “rematch”.

According to Steyn, fifteen man matches will round off the sevens action on all three days. In the other matches Framesby will meet Andrew Rabie and Pearson will take on Alexander Road.

A weekend pass (R150 for adults and R90 for students and scholars) will allow supporters to see all three days of action.

Visit to book or for more information.

The legends’ squad: Dan Mafuko, Andile Nyembezi, Evert Ferreira, Wessel Lightfoot, Robbie Kempson, Steyn Swart, Barry Pinnock, Johann Kapp, Adri Geldenhuys, Mark Wood, Bob Skinstad, Thobile Mtya, Anton Leonard, Bennie Jacobs, David von Hoesslin, Neil Cole, Quintin Daniels, Breyton Paulse, Marc Watson, AC Prinsloo, Deon Kayser, Tinus Linee, FA Meiring, Brett Hennessy, Brian Matthews, Wayne Weyer, Monde Tyaliti, Chivago Breda, Henry Pedro, Andries Fourie, Riaan Swartz, Ricardo Loubscher, Trevor Halstead

Old Boys (selected): Andries Fourie (Framesby: SA Sevens), Basil de Koning (Framesby: Griquas), Ryno Gerber (Framesby: Blue Bulls), Joggie Viljoen (Framesby: Springboks), Conrad Barnard (Rabie: Sharks), Jacques Steyn (Rabie: Griffons), Clint Walters (Pearson: Blue Bulls), Hannes Strydom (Pearson: Springboks), Chad Alcock (Alex: Springboks), Rory Duncan (Grey: Cheetahs), Barry Pinnock (Grey: EP), Nick Burrows (Grey: England) and Michael Catt (Grey: British Lions).

Issued by:

Full Stop Communications

Coetzee Gouws
082 575 7991
041 368 4992

On behalf of:

Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens