Ironman Raynard Tissink (Friendly City Cycles) showed his class when he powered away from a small group to win the fourth leg of the Beachfront Lodges Premier Cycling League that took place over 78 kilometres in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

Tissink, who had just returned from a six-week campaign in Europe, stopped the clock on 2:00:31. He was followed home by Toyota-Cycle Lab’s Antal Meiswinkel (2:00:56) and Mecer-NMMU’s Mark Murray (2:02:29).

“I’ve been resting since my last Ironman event in Roth (Germany) and therefore I didn’t expect much. With that in mind, I was both surprised and satisfied with my victory,” Tissink said yesterday.

Fifteen-year-old Pearson pupil Kellan Gouveris, riding for the Beachfront Lodges invitational team, punched far above his weight to place fourth (2:04:17) for the performance of the day.

The action started towards the end of the first 26-kilometre lap when Kevin Dorfling (Toyota-Cycle Lab) launched an attack on the slight incline leading up to Kragga Kamma Road. He was soon joined by Murray, Gouveris and Welcome Stokwe (Friendly City Cycles).

Stokwe – who was selected for the national development team some years ago and is seemingly starting to find his old form again – could not live with the pace, leaving three out in front. They combined well to build a lead of just over a minute on their pursuers.

The steep hills at the end of lap two took their toll on Dorfling and he was also shed from the group, leaving Murray and Gouveris out in front.

However, further back the peloton was unable to contain Tissink any longer and he set off in pursuit of the breakaway trio, with Meiswinkel tagging along. They integrated the leading group at the start of the last lap, making it four in front.

Tissink started to assert his authority on the race and dragged the group along at 55km/h on the flat sections leading to the last uphills. On this portion, Gouveris was the next casualty when he ran out of gears (which are limited according to Cycling South Africa’s regulations for his age).

On the last climb, Tissink simply powered away from the tiring Meiswinkel and Murray.

Ronnie Scheffer (Mecer-NMMU) again proved the fastest finisher when he brought the bunch home in fifth position (2:06:22), followed by Brent Pheiffer (Walmer Club), Weslee Todkil (Toyota-Cycle Lab) and Reghard Koen (Mecer-NMMU).

Issued by:

Full Stop Communications

Coetzee Gouws
041 368 4992
082 575 7991

On behalf of:

EP Cycling