While the Billabong Madibaz surfers will target another team title, Matie Shaun Joubert and Varsity College’s Nicole Pallet will defend their individual crowns in the University Sport South Africa (USSA) championships at Victoria Bay from June 22 to 24.

The competition, which is being organised and hosted by NMMU’s George campus for the seventh successive time, will see the top surfers from five coastal institutions vie for the various titles.

The Madibaz showed their depth by winning the overall trophy in addition to a second men’s title on the trot last year and will be keen to retain their status as one of the country’s leading surfing varsities.

In the individual competition, Joubert is expected to go head to head with Varsity College’s Wade Simkiss, who was third in the last two campaigns.

However, they will first have to overcome Cape Peninsula University of Technology student Jeandre Blignault, who won in 2013.

Pallet, who finished runner-up before winning last year, is again expected to lead the way in the women’s event.

She is likely to face stiff competition from team-mate Chanelle Botha, who was second last year, and Madibaz’s Roxy Giles, who won back to back titles in 2013 and 2014.

Pallet and Botha will also be at the forefront of Varsity College’s attempt to win their third women’s title in a row.

“The competition is an excellent opportunity to establish and foster relationships within the university fraternity, while at the same time contributing to the growth of sport,” said George campus sport manager Hugo Loubser.

He thanked Surfing South Africa for their support towards making the event a success and a platform for students to showcase their talent.

“A word of thanks also to the George Municipality for the use of Vic Bay and the Southern Cape Board Riders Association for again providing logistical support.”

A further incentive for the competitors is selection for the USSA team. The squad comprising eight men and four women will be chosen at the conclusion of the championships.

The University of Cape Town, Stellenbosch University, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Varsity College and NMMU are the competing institutions.

Surfing gets underway with the opening heats at 8am on Wednesday.

The Billabong Madibaz surfers won the team title at the 2015 University Sport South Africa (USSA) championships. back from left to right: Dane Cox, Dane van Greunen, Scott Lenton, Michal du Plessis,  Merrick Fairral, Carl Barnard, Chris Collins; front from left to right: Jean du Plessis, Roxy Giles, Inge Maclaren, Tahra Uren, Margot Riley. Photo: Kelvin Saunders.

Issued by: Coetzee Gouws
On behalf of Madibaz Sport & University Sport South Africa