The FNB NMMU-Madibaz will be looking for a strong finish against log leaders Tuks in their seventh and final match of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International in Port Elizabeth on Monday night.

Although the Madibaz will not progress beyond the round-robin stages of this year’s tournament, they have promised to come out fighting from the first whistle.

Madibaz head coach David Maidza said that the team wanted to go out with a bang and were aiming to give it their all in the last game.

“Coming from the boys themselves, and what Jarryd (Buys) has been saying to them this week, is that even though this is our last game we cannot throw in the towel.

“And that is what I have asked of them too – for us to get everything clicking on Monday,” he said.

Maidza said the team still believed that they could have been in a better position at this point of the tournament, but he wanted to see things come together for them in the final throw down.

“They deserve to have a bit of a reward after all the persistence and hard work they have put in this season.”

He said the team had been unlucky in a few games along the way and that there were also times when they did not play well or the other team was simply smarter on the day.

“But I am happy to say that we never lost by giving in. The boys have really tried this season and I am so proud of them for their continued effort.”

A few injuries have forced Maidza to make some changes to the starting line-up for Monday’s match.

A knee injury will see captain Buys sitting out the final showdown, with Tythan Adams replacing him at fullback.

Khaya Malotana will step off the bench to take over from Adams at right wing, with Andile Jho slotting into the utility back position in place of Malotana.

Brian Skosana holds onto number 11 with Yamkela Ngam still carrying an injury that will force him to miss the final fixture.

Flyhalf Ruan Allerston makes an appearance after a long break, replacing utility back Steven Hansel who moves to the replacements.

Vice-captain and left flank CJ Velleman will be replaced by Jody Reyneke, a move which sees Dane van der Westhuizen coming off the bench to slot in as hooker.

Van der Westhuizen’s move sidelines Warrick Venter, with Zane Marx joining him on the bench.

FNB NMMU Young Guns’ lock Elandre van der Merwe returns to the main Madibaz squad to replace Stephen Zaayman at number four.

The match kicks off at 4.45pm at the NMMU-Madibaz Stadium.

Find Madibaz4U on Facebook and Twitter.

FNB Madibaz: 15 Tythan Adams, 14 Khaya Malotana, 13 Michael Bernardt, 12 Devon Lailvaux, 11 Brian Skosana, 10 Ruan Allerston, 9 Daniel Acker, 8 Andisa Ntsila, 7 Rudolph Odendaal, 6 Jody Reyneke, 5 Rob Louw, 4 Elandre van der Merwe, 3 Steven Robesson, 2 Dane van der Westhuizen, 1 Marzuq Maarman Replacements: 16 Warrick Venter, 17 Laurence Christie, 18 Zane Marx, 19 Ivan-John du Preez, 20 Ivan Ludick, 21 Steven Hansel, 22 Andile Jho, 23 Arno Ebersohn

Flyhalf Ruan Allerston returns to the FNB NMMU-Madibaz squad for their seventh and final match of the FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International against FNB Tuks in Port Elizabeth on Monday night. Photo: Saspa

Issued by:

Coetzee Gouws
082 575 7991
041 368 4992

On behalf of:

Madibaz Sport